Cold Shot


Having enjoyed Pettrey’s Alaskan Courage series, I was excited to have the chance to review the first book of her new Chesapeake Valor series. As the initial book of the series, “Cold Shot” spends a fair amount of time laying the foundation with background of the primary characters for the series. As a result, the story may seem to have gotten off to a slow start but I feel that the author will continue to add to this information as the series progresses and readers will become more invested in what happens with these four men.

Pettrey’s writing skills are excellent with strong , realistic characters and a suspenseful plot with well researched details. I particularly found Griffin’s insights about snipers to be interesting. Fortunately, it is not something I have had a need to know and hope I never have need of it. The requisite romantic element of the story was handled well and was mostly believable within the plot. There was plenty of drama, danger, and action to hold my attention and a touch of humor and romance helped to relieve the suspense at just the right time. Multiple twists and surprises rounded out the story.

I enjoyed getting to know Griffin and his friends Declan and Parker and hope to meet their other buddy Luke in an upcoming sequel. I also liked Finley and hope she will also appear in the rest of this series.

Readers who enjoyed the Alaskan Courage series should also enjoy “Cold Shot”. I also think Dee Henderson fans would enjoy it.

This book was provided for review by
Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.


Four Best Friends.
And Then One Went Missing . . .

In college, Griffin McCray and his three best friends had their lives planned out. Griffin and Luke Gallagher would join the Baltimore Police Department, Declan Grey would head to the FBI, and Parker Mitchell would study to become a crime scene analyst. But then Luke vanished before graduation and their world–and friendships–crumbled.

Now years later, Griffin has left the police and his friendships behind. Still trying to forget a case that went bad when he was a SWAT team sniper, he’s living a quiet life as a park ranger at Gettysburg. Quiet until skeletal remains are uncovered near Little Round Top–and they aren’t Civil War-era.

Griffin just wants the case to go away, but charming forensic anthropologist Finley Scott discovers evidence pointing to the work of an expert sniper. When FBI agent Declan Grey steps in to take over the case, past and present collide. Griffin soon realizes he’ll need to confront some of the darkest days of his life if he–and those he cares about–are going to escape a downward spiral of crime, danger, and murder.


Photo Credit: © Michael Pettrey Photography

Photo Credit: © Michael Pettrey Photography

Dani Pettrey is a wife, home-schooling mom, and the acclaimed author of the Alaskan Courage romantic suspense series, which includes her bestselling novels Submerged, Shattered, Stranded, Silenced, and Sabotaged. Her books have been honored with the Daphne du Maurier award, two HOLT Medallions, two National Readers’ Choice Awards, the Gail Wilson Award of Excellence, and Christian Retailing’s Best Award, among others.

She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves–the thrill of adventure, nail-biting suspense, the deepening of her characters’ faith, and plenty of romance. She and her husband reside in Maryland, where they enjoy time with their two daughters, a son-in-law, and a super adorable grandson. You can find her online at