I am so glad that through the magic of Suzanne’s pen (probably her computer but pen sounds so much better), her readers did not have to wait for the inimitable M.K. to grow up in real time. Clearly the same M.K. we all grew to love in The Haven and The Keeper, her vivacity and zeal for life continued to place her in precarious situations.

When a careless accident forced her to take over as the new school teacher, M.K. dreaded each day she would be forced to spend inside the schoolroom and was certain she would be a failure as a teacher. Although Mary Kate and her father’s mysterious new worker seemed to lock horns at every encounter, they soon developed a connection that neither could ignore.

As with all Fisher’s books, “The Lesson” was well-written and entertaining with characters that were easy to love. Although Amish fiction is not my preferred genre, I always look forward to any new novel by Suzanne Woods Fisher. Filled with humor, drama, and romance, “The Lesson” also contains more than one lesson for its readers. I heartily endorse it.

This book was provided for review by LitFuse Publicity and Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.


TheLessonCentered on one of Suzanne Woods Fisher’s most loved characters, this is the story fans have eagerly anticipated. The precocious M.K. is all grown up (well, almost) and ready to take on the world–with surprising results. Fisher’s trademark plot twists and turns are as unexpected and satisfying as ever in this third book in the Stoney Ridge Seasons series.

In her wildest dreams, spunky and impulsive nineteen-year-old Mary Kate Lapp never imagined herself behind a schoolteacher’s desk. A run-in (literally) with the schoolteacher compels her to act as a substitute teacher, just as her restless desire to see the world compels her to apply for a passport . . . just in case. The only thing of interest to M.K. in the sleepy Amish community of Stoney Ridge is the unexplained death of a sheep farmer that coincided with the arrival of a mysterious young man into the community. Frustrated that no one takes the crime seriously, she takes matters into her own hands. Unfortunately, as tends to be the case for M.K., she jumps headlong into trouble.

Purchase a copy here.


Suzanne Woods Fisher

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Lancaster County Secrets series and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the coauthor of a new Amish children’s series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner and a Christy Award finalist. She is the host of internet radio show Amish Wisdom and a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. For more information, please visit and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher. Get Amish proverbs delivered right to your iphone or ipad! Download the Free App!


Enter to win an iPad from @SuzanneWoodsFisher in “The Lesson” Giveaway!

Celebrate the release of The Lesson with Suzanne Woods Fisher by entering to win one of TWO iPads!


Two winners will receive:

  • A brand new iPad
  • A $15 gift certificate to iTunes

Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on January 20th. Winner will be announced on 1/22/13 at Suzanne’s Blog.

Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning.