“Slow Moon Rising” is the final book in Everson’s Cedar Keys series. Those who have read the previous two novels in the series may experience a bit of deja vu as they read because some of the details were also included in the other novels. “Slow Moon Rising” begins several months after the death of Ross Claybourne’s wife Joan. The narrative moves from the point of view of one Claybourne woman to another as each one relates events in the family’s life through her own observations and the story spans several years. The conclusion wraps everything up with long held secrets revealed and problems resolved.

This conclusion to the Cedar Keys series tackles several difficult topics including infidelity, alcoholism, and grief. I felt that it was an excellent illustration of the damage that can be caused by hiding the truth when total transparency can quickly open the door to forgiveness and moving on with one’s life. Each one of the Claybourne daughters had been affected in one way or another because of the atmosphere of coverup and denial in which they grew up.

“Slow Moon Rising” has a very serious theme and is not exactly what I would describe as entertaining. It is probably not what one would choose for a light and happy beach read.  However the nuggets of truth and the valuable lessons in life laid out in this novel made it a very worthwhile investment  of a few hours of my time. A story of family, forgiveness, reconciliation, and relationships, “Slow Moon Rising” is a book to remember, especially when your own life seems difficult.

This book was provided for review by
Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.


Slow Moon Rising

One Family. One Secret. One Chance to Make It Right.

Cedar Key has long been a place of rest, healing, and release in the Claybourne family. But it might also be the birthplace of a lie that is poisoning the family from within. Join the strong Claybourne women—Anise, Kimberly, Jayme-Leigh, Heather, and Ami—as they each confront the truth. Their unique paths will lead them through heartbreak, misunderstandings, and pain. But their journeys will also bring reconciliation with each other and renewed love in their own lives.

In her lyrical, evocative fashion, Eva Marie Everson weaves a tapestry of complicated relationships that, when complete, reveals the most beautiful work of art there is—family.

• Author received 2012 Inspirational Readers Choice Award from the Faith, Hope, and Love Chapter of the RWA
• Luxurious novel of enduring love and long-buried family secrets
• “Everson doesn’t whitewash the difficult parts of the story, which makes it all the more endearing and meaningful.”


—4½ star TOP Pick RT Book Review for Waiting for Sunrise


Eva Marie EversonEva Marie Everson is a successful speaker and the awardwinning author of Things Left Unspoken, This Fine Life, Chasing Sunsets, and Waiting for Sunrise. She is coauthor of the Potluck Club books and the Potluck Catering Club series. She lives in Florida.

Find out more at